What is a moon bow?

Moonbows are a rainbow caused by the refraction of light from the moon. Moonbows are much dimmer than solar rainbows and almost always appear completely white. The colors are there but the light is so dim our eyes can’t detect the colors. Moonbows are much rarer than solar rainbows.

---

A moonbow (also known as a lunar rainbow) is a phenomenon caused when the light from the moon is refracted through water droplets in the air. The amount of light available even from the brightest full moon is far less than that produced by the sun so moonbows are incredibly faint & rarely seen.