Can pickles get moldy?

Yes, pickles can get moldy, because they are exposed to the air and not fully submerged in the brining liquids. If there is mold on the surface of the liquid and not on the pickles themselves, they might be ok to eat, but if you see mold remember the old adage, when in doubt throw it out.