What is a pickle in baseball?

A rundown, informally known as a pickle or the hotbox, is a situation in the game of baseball that occurs when the baserunner is stranded between two bases, also known as no-man's land, and is in jeopardy of being tagged out.

---

In baseball, a pickle is a situation where a runner is caught between 2 bases and is in a rundown with the defense. Typically a runner will run back and forth until either tagged out by a fielder or makes it safely to one of the two bases.