How long was the show the waltons on?

The Waltons, a television series about the life of a Depression-era family in Virginia's Blue Ridge Mountains, ran for 9 seasons and 221 episodes between September 1972 and June 1981. The series was based on the 1961 book Spencer's Mountain by Earl Hamner Jr.