Tell me about the movie red dawn?

Red Dawn is a war/action movie released in 1984. Set in Colorado, it follows a small group of high school friends, dubbed the Wolverines, that band together to defend againt invading Soviet forces. In a later version, released 2012, North Korean troops invade the U.S. city of Spokane, Washington.