What is the use before they got toilet paper?

Before the advent of modern toilet paper many different materials were used depending upon the country, weather conditions, social customs, and status. People used leaves, grass, ferns, corn cobs, maize, fruit skins, seashells, stone, sand, moss, snow, wool, lace, hemp, and water.