What's the difference between t. h. e. i. r. and t. h. e. r. e.?

Spelled T-H-E-I-R, "their" is a third-person plural possessive pronoun, basically meaning "belonging to them." Spelled T-H-E-R-E, "there" means "that place that isn't 'here.'" The easiest way to remember the difference is that "there" (T-H-E-R-E) includes the word "here" (H-E-R-E).