What is the radioactive spider?

The radioactive spider is what bit Peter Parker and gave him his abilities as Spider Man. The spider was accidentally exposed to huge doses of radiation during a public demonstration of the safe handling of nuclear waste. It lived a short time after mutation...just long enough to bite Peter Parker.