Is there such thing as a purple carrot?

Carrots Were Originally Purple. ... Over time, somehow, 17th century Dutch carrot growers managed to cultivate these yellow and white ones carrots into the orange ones we are familiar with today. The purple ones still do exist, but by far are the minority in the world of carrot colors.