How long is the average funeral?

Typically, a funeral service will be about one hour long, sometimes followed by a longer reception for mourners to mingle and comfort one another. Depending on the family's beliefs, a funeral could last several hours. More informal funerals can be as brief as 20 or 30 minutes.