What year was michael phelps in the olympics?

Phelps first competed in the 2000 Sydney Olympics, finishing fifth in the 200-meter butterfly. He won eight medals at the 2004 Olympics in Athens, eight medals again (all gold) in Beijing in 2008, six in London in 2012 and the six in Rio in 2016. He has now retired from swimming competitively.