Who invented the hookah?

It was in 16th century when for the first time Abul-Fath Gilani (d. 1588), proficient physician at the Indian court of Emperor Akbar, passed the smoke of tobacco through a bowl of water to purify and cool the smoke and thus invented the hookah.