When was heavy metal invented?

Heavy Metal, as a style evolved from many roots. While many artists had individual songs that could fall under the genre of heavy metal, Black Sabbath is often recognized as the first "Metal Band", with Deep Purple, Judas Priest and Kiss emerging shortly after Sabbath's Debut.