What happens when you mix wax with water?

It depends on their temperatures. If the wax is hot, water can steam and hot wax will spray out dangerously. If it’s near an open flame you may get a wax fire. Adding hot water to cold wax causes wax to melt. At the right temperatures and with additives, you could also emulsify wax and water.