How long do you cook dry apples on medium?

Simmer the apples over medium-low heat, covered, until they turn tender. Depending on how thick or thin you cut the apples, this will take between 25 and 45 minutes. Stir the apples occasionally as they cook; this will help them cook more evenly.

---

Place on the prepared baking sheets in a single layer. Bake the slices on the upper and lower racks for 1 hour. Remove from the oven and turn each slice over; return the pans to the oven. Bake 1 more hour for soft dried apples or about 2 more hours for crispy apple chips.