Why do they call pineapples pineapple?

In old English, the word "apple" was used to describe any unfamiliar fruit. The word "pineapple" originally referred to what are now called pine cones, which technically are the fruit of pine trees. What we now call pineapples were so named because of their resemblance to pine cones.