Why can't you put metal in microwaves?

Under some circumstances, metal can be used in a microwave. The problem is that metal will act as both an antenna, causing the metal to conduct and heat up, and also as a reflector, which can damage the magnetron tube used to generate microwaves by causing high voltage standing waves.