How do i cut a shallot?

First, remove the papery outer layer and cut off both ends. For slices, just slice the shallot. To dice, cut in half the long way and put the flat side down. Cut in slices the long way about every one eighth inch. Rotate the shallot and cut every one eighth inch. Voila!