What animal is gonzo?

Gonzo has been thought to be many creatures. In his debut appearance on The Great Santa Claus Switch, Gonzo was a “Frackle”; in Muppets from Space, he was an extraterrestrial; he’s also considered some sort of bird.

---

he's not an animal. there is no animal, nor has there ever been an animal, that looks like gonzo. He's a creature of Jim Henson's imagination.