What is the meaning of the song stairway to heaven?

Songfacts.com states: "The lyrics, written by Robert Plant, take some pretty wild turns, but the beginning of the song is about a woman who accumulates money, only to find out the hard way, her life had no meaning, and will not get her into heaven.