Why do people have different colored eyes?

Because of the lack of melanin found in many biological diversity. Blue eyes comes from years of evolution in the northern sphere. What started as a mutation, maintained due to the ecology of living in snowy environments. Brown eyes protect against harmful UV Ray's that exist in the southern sphere.