What was sade born?

Helen Folasade Adu CBE was born 16 January 1959), known professionally as Sade Adu or simply Sade (/ʃɑːˈdeɪ/ shah-DAY), is a Nigerian-born British singer, known as the lead singer of her eponymous band.