What's the first step of alcoholics anonymous?

Alcoholics Anonymous, a self help organization founded in 1935, has a 12 step program encouraging responsibility and empowering alcoholics to abstain from alcohol. The first step in that program is " We admitted we were powerless over alcohol—that our lives had become unmanageable."