What is this word c. o. n.?

"Con," spelled C-O-N, is usually a shortening of one of three words. It can be "confidence," as in a swindle; "convict," as in someone found guilty of a crime; or "convention," as in a gathering of people with a common interest. It can also be a negative argument, or the helm of a ship.