Why do cats always land on your feet?

The way cats land on their feet is called the righting reflex. Their back arches, the feet go underneath the body and bring their forepaws close to the face to protect it. Their low body to weight ratio also helps cats to land on their feet as it manages to slow their velocity while falling.