What is the difference between first degree murder and third degree murder?

1st degree murder is the most serious charge, as it is believed to be planned and carried with intent of harm/malice. 3rd degree murder is characterized as non-violent felony murder it can also be defined as a negligent homicide and usually includes less serious sentencing options for the defendant