What's an a platypus?

A platypus, sometimes called a duck-billed platypus, is an egg laying mammal that lives only in eastern Australia. It is one of the very few egg-laying mammals, and one of the very few venomous mammals; the male has a spur on its hind leg that can deliver a very venom. It's not deadly to humans.