What is the wind speed in a category one hurricane?

To be classified as a hurricane, a tropical cyclone must have one-minute maximum sustained winds of at least 74 mph which is a Category 1. The highest classification in the scale, Category 5, consists of storms with sustained winds over 156 mph.