What is the most populated state per square mile?

New Jersey is the most densely populated state with 1,210 people per square mile. Washington, D.C. actually has the highest population density in the US with 11,516 people per square mile, but it's technically not a state. It's a federal district under the exclusive jurisdiction of the US Congress.