What year did the plague start?

The Black Death was a devastating global epidemic of bubonic plague that struck Europe and Asia in the mid-1300s. The plague arrived in Europe in October 1347, when 12 ships from the Black Sea docked at the Sicilian port of Messina.

---

There were several waves of the bubonic plague, also known as the black plague or black death, in Europe during the Middle Ages. The most well known incidence of plague occured in approximately 1346 A.D., lasting several years.