What does it mean when a dog puts his ears back?

When your dog holds his ears taut and tightly forward, can be an indication that he is preparing to react to something. Your dog may move his ears back or flatten them against his head when he is feeling submissive, anxious or afraid. The more fearful the dog is, the farther back his ears may move.