What do they do on the day of the dead?

Folks in Mexico celebrate the Day of the Dead on November 1st and 2nd. Families prepare food that the dead family members liked and leave it out for the deceased to consume the "essence" of the food. They mark a pathway to their house or gravesite with marigolds and celebrate in honor of the dead.