Where did mardi gra start?

Mardi Gras (Fat Tuesday) is the name of the Tuesday before Lent begins on Ash Wednesday and it's been around since early Christianity. It's a time when you feast before the sacrifices of Lent. It's been celebrated in the US since about 1699.