What are the four steps of boy scout advancement?

Step 1: The Scout learns hands on scouting skills. Step 2: The Scout is tested. When their leaders see that the Scout has mastered a skill they record the achievement. Step 3: The Scout is reviewed by the troop committee. Step 4: The Scout is recognized.