How do you tell if a pineapple is ripe?

How do you tell if a pineapple is ripe? A ripe pineapple should have a firm shell but be slightly soft with a bit of give when you squeeze it. Pineapples that are completely solid or hard when squeezed are unlikely to be fully ripe.

---

Example: Turn the pineapple upside down so the leafy top is out of the way. Gently press the around the bottom of the pineapple. Ideally, it will have some softness to it but not much. Then smell the bottom. Ideally, the scent will be slightly sweet.