Is there such a thing as a black diamond?

Diamonds are formed when pure carbon, which is black, is compressed under tremendous pressure and high heat. Color in diamonds comes from impurities in carbon. When a diamond first starts to form it would be black. Black diamonds are diamonds that haven't been cooked enough.