Is frindle a real word?

Maybe. Frindle is a 1996 children's novel written by Andrew Clements and illustrated by Brian Selznick. It tells the story of a young boy who makes up a new word for "pen". Frindle, the word he invented, catches on among his classmates, but his teacher hates it