What are the effects of catnip on cats?

According to WebMD, when a cat eats catnip, it acts as a sedative, but when smelled, it causes the cat to go crazy. It is thought to mimic feline pheremones and trigger those receptors. Cats may react to the plant by rolling around, flipping over, and generally being hyperactive.