Are anchovies the same as sardines?

Sardines have white flesh and are often identified by their slightly protruding lower jaw. Anchovies, on the other hand, are sold with darker, reddish-grey flesh as a result of the curing they undergo and are usually less than 15 cm (6 inches) in length.