Where did the word bathroom come from?

also bath-room, 1780, from bath + room. Originally a room with apparatus for bathing (the only definition in "Century Dictionary," 1902); it came to be used 20th century . In the U.S. as a euphemism for a lavatory and often is noted as a word that confuses British travelers.