What is simmer sauce?

In Ethiopian cuisine, a simmer sauce also known as Kulet serves as a base for stews made with lentils or sometimes meat. When making a stew, a base sauce is developed first by simmering onions, spices and oil. Creating this sauce is the most time-consuming part of making a stew.