How do you care for a butterfly bush?

To care for a butterfly bush, water it sparingly once it's taken root, and avoid over-fertilizing. Instead, give it a thin coat of compost or mulch once a year. Also be sure to deadhead any withered flowers, as this plant is famous for seeding and rapidly taking over gardens.