Who is admiral greer?

Vice Admiral James Greer (Ret.) is the CIA Deputy Director of Intelligence and personally recruited both John Clark and Jack Ryan into the CIA. In several of the Jack Ryan novels (notably The Hunt for Red October and Patriot Games) Greer was the Deputy Director of Intelligence in the CIA.