Why did they stop doing the world's fair?

America has not hosted a world’s fair since 1984 because it hasn’t seen the medium as worthy of investment. Following the end of the Cold War, when the U.S. emerged as the sole superpower, it became difficult to justify the cost of hosting for the sake of national reassurance and public diplomacy.