Who is pangloss?

Pangloss, fictional character, the pedantic and unfailingly optimistic tutor of Candide, the protagonist of Voltaire's novel Candide (1759), a satire on philosophical optimism. The name Pangloss—from the Greek elements pan-, “all,” and glōssa, “tongue”—suggests glibness and garrulousness.