What is master?

HISTORICAL a man who has people working for him, especially servants or slaves. "he acceded to his master's wishes" Similar: lord overlord lord and master ruler sovereign monarch liege liege lord suzerain overseer superintendent director manager controller leader governor commander padrone captain