What's a pickle ornament?

Legend has it that when Germans decorate their Christmas tree, the very last ornament they hang on it is a pickle. ... On Christmas Eve, the first child to find the pickle hidden amongst the branches on the tree is said to get good luck for the year to come, as well as an extra present