How do you light up a beacon in minecraft?

To power it up you must build a pyramid out of iron blocks, with the beacon sitting on top. The lowest power is a simple 3x3 square, with the beacon placed in the center. Adding a 5x5 square under it would be level 2, followed by a 7x7 square, and a 9x9 square under those to be fully powered.