Who holds the record for the most consecutive games played this century?

The record of playing in 2,632 consecutive games over more than 16 years is held by Cal Ripken Jr. of the Baltimore Orioles. Ripken surpassed Lou Gehrig of the New York Yankees, whose record of 2,130 consecutive games had stood for 56 years.