Tell me the life cycle of a cicada?

The cicada will stay underground from 2 to 17 years depending on the species. ... After the long 2 to 17 years, cicadas emerge from the ground as nymphs. Nymphs climb the nearest available tree, and begin to shed their nymph exoskeleton.